Walk/Bike To School


    Walk to School Day 2014 Registration Now Open

    Join the Celebration on October 8

    CHAPEL HILL, N.C. (June 3, 2014) – Registration is now open for the 18th Walk to School Day. This annual event in the United States is a part of an international effort to celebrate the many benefits of walking and bicycling to school. Walk to School Day 2014 will take place on Wednesday, October 8. Walk to School Day participation reached a record high in 2013 with more than 4,400 registered U.S. events and that number is expected to rise once again in 2014.

    Walk to School Day event registration is free and open to individuals and organizations holding an October event in the United States. Events that register on the Walk to School website,, will be displayed on an interactive U.S. map on the website, where neighboring communities, media and other organizations can identify who is walking in their area.

    Registering a Walk to School Day event provides organizers access to free, downloadable materials including stickers, certificates and customizable fliers. Registrants can also subscribe to a weekly e-newsletter for four weeks in September and October with tips and resources for organizing a Walk to School Day event.

    International Walk to School Day is a global event that involves communities from more than 40 countries walking and bicycling to school. It began in 1997 as a one-day event. Over time, it has become part of a movement for year-round safe routes to school. Today, thousands of schools across America – from all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico – participate every October.

    For more information on Walk to School activities in the U.S., visit To see who walked in 2013, visit

    About the National Center for Safe Routes to School

    Established in May 2006, the National Center for Safe Routes to School assists states and communities in enabling and encouraging children to safely walk and bicycle to school. The National Center serves as the information clearinghouse for the federal Safe Routes to School program. The organization also provides technical support and resources and coordinates online registration efforts for U.S. Walk to School Day and facilitates worldwide promotion and participation. The National Center is part of the University of North Carolina Highway Safety Research Center with funding from the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration. For more information, visit

    About Walk to School Day

    In 1997, the Partnership for a Walkable America sponsored the first National Walk Our Children to School Day in Chicago with the aim of bringing community leaders and children together to create awareness of the need for communities to be walkable. In 2000, the event became international when the UK and Canada (both of which had already been promoting walking to school) and the USA joined together for the first International Walk to School Day. The reasons for walking have grown just as quickly as the event itself. For more information, visit


    Colleen Vasu
    Communications Manager
    National Center for Safe Routes to School
    (919) 962.7769 

    Please click this Kansas PTA Advocacy logo to visit the Legislative website.